Incredible Things

by jacobjuncker

On a recent road trip to a meeting, I stopped into McDonald’s for breakfast.  It was there that I noticed this poster…

McDonalds Poster“We believe you can do incredible things here.”

That saying stopped me in my tracks (I even went back to take this picture!).  It got me thinking.  Are churches willing to make such a bold statement?  Or does McDonald’s have the market cornered on empowering people to be incredible and do incredible things?

The Church is the body of Christ alive and active in the world today.  The Church was established by God to carry on Christ’s mission of outreaching, reconciling love–a love that breaks down barriers and brings us closer to God and one another.  Do we (and, especially, I as a pastor) really believe that everyday church people can do incredible things?  If so, do we (I) let people know it?  Do we (I) let them know of the potential that lies within them as people created in the image of God? Do we (I) let them know of the potential that lies within them as a community–called, knit together and empowered by God’s Holy Spirit?

When the disciples were questioning their own faith and ability, Jesus pleaded with them.

“Don’t you know me…even after I have been with you all this time? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I have spoken to you I don’t speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me does his works. 11 Trust me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or at least believe on account of the works themselves. 12 I assure you that whoever believes in me will do the works that I do. They will do even greater works than these because I am going to the Father. 13 I will do whatever you ask for in my name, so that the Father can be glorified in the Son. 14 When you ask me for anything in my name, I will do it.

John 14:9-14, Common English Bible (emphasis added)

Jesus wanted his disciples, then and now, to know that they will be able to do all that Jesus did and more.  We too can do incredible and miraculous things.  All we have to do is believe in and allow Jesus to work through us.  So, I’m thinking of hanging a recruitment sign of my own outside the church (or at least outside my office).  It will say…

Join us!

We believe

you can do incredible, miraculous things here
to transform the world!

I hope I get some enthusiastic inquiries.  God has some incredible and miraculous things for us to do–together–for Christ’s sake!

